Usman Khawaja and Steve Smith put up 159 in an epic partnership that lasted 409 balls.

Smith missed out on yet another chance to score a century, getting dismissed on 72 off 214 balls by Hasan Ali.

Khawaja, however, made up for his missed opportunity in Rawalpindi by ending the day unbeaten on 127 off 266 balls.

With Smith falling in the penultimate over of the day, Nathan Lyon was sent out for the last over

and the day ended with the Australian nightwatchman being dropped with Imam-ul-Haq making a mess of a rather simple catch.

Australia were 251 for the loss of three wickets as they walked back at the end of the day.

Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Rizwan(w), Iftikhar Ahmed, Fawad Alam, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shan Masood, Saud Shakeel, Haris Rauf, Zahid Mahmood

Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins(c), Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Swepson, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Mark Steketee, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Josh Inglis